Important Immigration Updates

Page last updated March 16, 2017 1:21 pm EST.

What happened?

A federal judge in Hawaii has halted the implementation of the executive order. Please continue to refer to this page in the future, as we expect the situation to remain fluid for the next several days and weeks.

President Trump signed a new executive order (EO) on March 6 that imposes a 90-day suspension of entry to the U.S. of nationals of certain designated countries: Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. The new EO takes effect March 16. While the new EO provides some relief from the original one issued on January 27, 2017, it will continue to impact visa processing and travel abroad for international students and scholars. 

Elimination of the Visa Interview Waiver Program

The visa waiver program remains suspended for many applicants. As a result, we expect visa processing times for all applicants to slow considerably. Appointment and processing times are available at the Department of State’s website.

Note: this is the visa interview waiver program. The visa waiver program is still in place as it has been.

For citizens of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen

Please note that Iraq is not listed as an affected country in this new executive order. In addition to the information below, you might want to read the travel advisory issued by NAFSA: Association of International Educators.

  • If you are currently outside the United States

    Individuals who had a valid visa either on January 27, 2017 (prior to 5:00 p.m. EST) or hold a valid visa on the effective date of the EO (March 16, 2017) are not barred from entering the U.S. Individuals without a valid visa are barred from applying for one until the temporary ban is lifted. However, no visas will be revoked solely based on this EO.
  • If you are currently in the U.S. and maintaining valid nonimmigrant status (F-1/F-2, J-1/J-2, H-1B, etc.):

    The EO does not apply to individuals who are lawfully present in the U.S. on the effective date of the EO (March 16, 2017). Thus, the EO permits these individuals to depart the U.S. and reenter if they have a valid visa to return to their current status.

    We continue to advise an abundance of caution for individuals from the six countries included in the ban before traveling to any country outside of the U.S. without a valid visa to return.

  • U.S. permanent residents and dual citizens

    The EO clarifies that U.S. permanent residents are not banned from obtaining a visa or entering the country. The EO also clarifies that any dual national of one of the six countries, when traveling on a passport issued by a different non-designated country, is not banned from obtaining a visa or entering the U.S.
  • Implications for Summer and Fall 2017

    We will continue to process applications for admission from all students, irrespective of citizenship. Immigration documents Form I-20 and DS-2019 will continue to be issued for admitted students from the six countries directly impacted by the new EO. Admitted students will receive regular updates concerning the EO and detailed information to prepare them for the visa application process as soon as the ban is lifted. This communication will reiterate Indiana University’s commitment to all students, and provide instructions relevant to individual circumstances.

    Invitations to visiting scholars and offers of employment to foreign nationals outside of the U.S. will likely require additional advising and processing time prior to employment eligibility.

Additional Information for All Students

  • Your Rights in the U.S.

    As an international student or scholar, you have specific rights in the U.S.

    Know your rights » 

  • Hiring an attorney

    If you'd like to speak with an experienced immigration attorney on how the order may apply to your specific situation, contact us. We'll work with the IU Office of General Counsel to refer you to an attorney.