English-Speaking Countries

Proof of English Proficiency Exemption

Countries where English is official language for Higher Education 

We recognize the following countries as having English as the official or de facto language used for conducting public business and as the sole or predominant language of instruction in higher education. If you are a citizen of one of these countries you can be admitted for study at IUPUI without presenting additional evidence of English proficiency. You may still be required to take the IUPUI English for Academic Purposes (EAP) Placement Exam.

  • Botswana
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Malawi
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria - Starting Spring 2017, only holders of Bachelor's degrees from Nigeria are exempt from English language proficiency tests (TOEFL/IELTS) for admission purposes. 
  • Philippines
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Countries which are Predominately English-Speaking 

We recognize the following countries as predominantly native-English speaking. Persons who are citizens of these countries are considered native speakers of English. Non-native speakers of English who have earned a bachelor's or higher level degree from an officially recognized college or university in one of these countries are considered to have demonstrated English proficiency and are exempted from IUPUI English for Academic Purposes (EAP) testing requirements.

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Barbuda
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Canada
  • Dominica
  • Grand Cayman Islands
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Irish Republic
  • Jamaica
  • Montserrat
  • New Zealand
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent & the Grenadines
  • Tobago
  • Trinidad
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • United Kingdom: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales
  • United States of America (except Puerto Rico)